1. Account suspended
    Moves
    06 Mar '09 23:501 edit
    Hi, this is the first time that i have entered the science forum and do so with some intrepidation , for I am not a scientist, anyhow, i will try to be as lucid and succinct as possible. My question concerns the ageing process, we know that cells are able to regenerate and replenish themselves, thus when we accidentally cut our finger, the body functions in such as way as to reproduce the necessary components and we heal, my question is this, under the correct circumstances, is there any reason why this process could not go on perpetually - thanks in advance Robbie.
  2. Joined
    08 Oct '06
    Moves
    07 Mar '09 00:20
    When DNA is replicated, it is slightly shortened. In order to not lose vital information coded in our DNA, there's a section of DNA in each chromosome known as a telomere. This is nothing but a repeated sequence of nucleotides which acts as a buffer to the coding region of our DNA. If the process of mitotic cell division were to continue indefinitely we would eventually run out of this region in our DNA, and lose important information coded in our DNA necessary for survival.

This is just one reason that the process can not continue indefinitely.
  3. Account suspended
    Moves
    07 Mar '09 00:412 edits
    Originally posted by amolv06
    When DNA is replicated, it is slightly shortened. In order to not lose vital information coded in our DNA, there's a section of DNA in each chromosome known as a telomere. This is nothing but a repeated sequence of nucleotides which acts as a buffer to the coding region of our DNA. If the process of mitotic cell division were to continue indefinitely we w ...[text shortened]... ssary for survival.

This is just one reason that the process can not continue indefinitely.