1. Standard memberc99ux
    'Sir' to you
    Osaka, Japan
    Joined
    30 Sep '05
    Moves
    40257
    14 Jul '06 06:41
    A few questions and suggestions about the Buddy List:

    Firstly, if I'm on someone's Buddy List, I can challenge him anytime and he has to at least start the game, right? But if he's not on my list, he can't challenge me if his challenge would be outside my challenge limits, right?

    Suggestion 1: Make Buddies mutual, i.e. proposed & accepted = two Buddies.

    Suggestion 2: On a person's profile page, have a link, eg. "Add c99ux to my Buddy List"
  2. Standard memberc99ux
    'Sir' to you
    Osaka, Japan
    Joined
    30 Sep '05
    Moves
    40257
    19 Jul '06 04:22
    Originally posted by c99ux
    A few questions and suggestions about the Buddy List:

    Firstly, if I'm on someone's Buddy List, I can challenge him anytime and he has to at least start the game, right? But if he's not on my list, he can't challenge me if his challenge would be outside my challenge limits, right?

    Suggestion 1: Make Buddies mutual, i.e. proposed & accepted = two Buddies. ...[text shortened]...
    Suggestion 2: On a person's profile page, have a link, eg. "Add c99ux to my Buddy List"
    Bump
  3. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    19 Jul '06 05:37
    Originally posted by c99ux

    Suggestion 2: On a person's profile page, have a link, eg. "Add c99ux to my Buddy List"
    Re suggestion 2.
    If you use Firefox,you can already have a link on your profile page , eg Add to Buddy List and Add to Ignore List.
    You would need to get the greasemonkey extension from
    https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/748/
    and then the user script from the developers forum here. Thre are many other enhancements available too.
  4. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    43938
    19 Jul '06 11:28
    Is it in any way possible to know at whose buddy list I'm in?
    Is it in any way possible to know at whose ignore list I'm in?
  5. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    19 Jul '06 13:373 edits
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    Is it in any way possible to know at whose buddy list I'm in?
    Is it in any way possible to know at whose ignore list I'm in?
    Answered in site announcements previously by Russ.

    "Only when they try to send you a message or try to take one of your games.

    Test your popularity by messaging all users on the site.
    (Joke: Do no try this!)"
  6. Standard memberc99ux
    'Sir' to you
    Osaka, Japan
    Joined
    30 Sep '05
    Moves
    40257
    20 Jul '06 01:32
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    Re suggestion 2.
    If you use Firefox,you can already have a link on your profile page , eg Add to Buddy List and Add to Ignore List.
    You would need to get the greasemonkey extension from
    https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/748/
    and then the user script from the developers forum here. Thre are many other enhancements available too.
    Sounds good, can you send me the instructions by PM (or post them here)?
  7. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    20 Jul '06 22:052 edits
    Originally posted by c99ux
    Sounds good, can you send me the instructions by PM (or post them here)?
    ok.
    1st. Get Firefox...

    http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

    2nd. Get the greasemonkey extension...

    http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/

    3rd. Install the user scripts that you want from here...

    http://members.shaw.ca/ouroboros/RHP/

    Then have a look in the Developers forum here for more info.

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/board/threadlist.php?forumid=17

    If you have just newly got Firefox, you can get loads of other add-ons and extensions at...

    https://addons.mozilla.org/?application=firefox

    First one I would recommend is Linkification

    https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/190/

    ...then all these links would be clickable instead of having to be copy/pasted.

    Good luck.
  8. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    43938
    21 Jul '06 05:10
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    ok.
    1st. Get Firefox...

    http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

    2nd. Get the greasemonkey extension...

    http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/

    3rd. Install the user scripts that you want from here...

    http://members.shaw.ca/ouroboros/RHP/

    Then have a look in the Developers forum here for more info.

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/board/thread ...[text shortened]...

    ...then all these links would be clickable instead of having to be copy/pasted.

    Good luck.
    Seems complicated...
  9. Standard memberc99ux
    'Sir' to you
    Osaka, Japan
    Joined
    30 Sep '05
    Moves
    40257
    21 Jul '06 06:39
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    ok.
    1st. Get Firefox...

    http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

    2nd. Get the greasemonkey extension...

    http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/

    3rd. Install the user scripts that you want from here...

    http://members.shaw.ca/ouroboros/RHP/

    Then have a look in the Developers forum here for more info.

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/board/thread ...[text shortened]...

    ...then all these links would be clickable instead of having to be copy/pasted.

    Good luck.
    Maybe I'm thick, but I can't do it as you've explained...

    I can click on a link and it takes me to a new page; I can click and download if given that option; I click and can install if given that option...

    These links just take me to another page with lots of funny code words and symbols that I don't understand, and loads more links, then another page when I click on the next link, and following the links just brings me back the the first page. What do I have to do next?

    (I have FF & GM extension...)
  10. Standard memberc99ux
    'Sir' to you
    Osaka, Japan
    Joined
    30 Sep '05
    Moves
    40257
    21 Jul '06 07:05
    Originally posted by c99ux
    Maybe I'm thick, but I can't do it as you've explained...

    I can click on a link and it takes me to a new page; I can click and download if given that option; I click and can install if given that option...

    These links just take me to another page with lots of funny code words and symbols that I don't understand, and loads more links, then another page wh ...[text shortened]... ings me back the the first page. What do I have to do next?

    (I have FF & GM extension...)
    OK, I know what I have to do...

    I have to open my eyes, put my glasses on and look at the Monkey Bar at the top of the page, and there is the majik dialog boks wich sez "Install"...

    Duuuhhh.....
  11. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    21 Jul '06 10:02
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    Seems complicated...
    Nah, it really isn't....

    It's pretty straight-forward, and well worth the effort.
  12. Standard memberHindstein
    Finish Him!!!
    Chess Club HQ
    Joined
    15 Jun '05
    Moves
    18704
    22 Jul '06 12:13
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    Nah, it really isn't....

    It's pretty straight-forward, and well worth the effort.
    I agree - it is very easy to install and use.

    BTW, Dr, do you have any other recommendations for extensions? Linkify is great for here but are there any others you use?
  13. Standard memberc99ux
    'Sir' to you
    Osaka, Japan
    Joined
    30 Sep '05
    Moves
    40257
    22 Jul '06 13:322 edits
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    Nah, it really isn't....

    It's pretty straight-forward, and well worth the effort.
    Agreed, really simple and very good. Well worth the 25 seconds it took me to do it (after the 4 hours looking through dirty glasses with my eyes closed...).

    Simple really. FF, GM, click, click, click. Done.

    EDIT: In all the excitement, I'd forgotten about Suggestion number 1. How about making buddies mutual?
  14. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    22 Jul '06 19:091 edit
    Originally posted by Hindstein
    I agree - it is very easy to install and use.

    BTW, Dr, do you have any other recommendations for extensions? Linkify is great for here but are there any others you use?
    I use IEView but that's mainly because some sites I go to don't work too well with FF. [it lets you r-click on a page and choose to 'view in IE']
    Likewise there's one for going the other way - firefoxview.

    http://ieview.mozdev.org/

    http://www.iosart.com/firefox/firefoxview/


    This one makes all your IE favorites accessible from FF
    http://www.iosart.com/firefox/plainoldfavorites/


    There's loads more - adblocking stuff - for use on other sites of course. [well you wouldn't need that here anyway as a sub]
  15. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    43938
    22 Jul '06 19:12
    Does FF works well with MSN?
Back to Top