1. This is embarrasking
    Joined
    17 Nov '05
    Moves
    38581
    12 Mar '06 19:08
    Does anyone know how to write a script to automatically calculate the piece count as a chess piece is captured? And if so could they please provide it. That is if it can be done.
  2. London
    Joined
    28 Sep '04
    Moves
    110329
    12 Mar '06 19:16
    Originally posted by cashthetrash
    Does anyone know how to write a script to automatically calculate the piece count as a chess piece is captured? And if so could they please provide it. That is if it can be done.
    I think Ourborous is the guy to speak to about greasemonkey on this site.
  3. This is embarrasking
    Joined
    17 Nov '05
    Moves
    38581
    12 Mar '06 20:06
    Originally posted by Freddie2006
    I think Ourborous is the guy to speak to about greasemonkey on this site.
    Ahh that's right thanks.
  4. Standard memberXanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    p^2.sin(phi)
    Joined
    06 Sep '04
    Moves
    25076
    12 Mar '06 23:21
    Originally posted by cashthetrash
    Does anyone know how to write a script to automatically calculate the piece count as a chess piece is captured? And if so could they please provide it. That is if it can be done.
    Doesn't that already happen?
  5. Standard memberXanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    p^2.sin(phi)
    Joined
    06 Sep '04
    Moves
    25076
    13 Mar '06 02:35
    I would like to know if the get PGN/FEN script can be adapted for the new games pages.
  6. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    13 Mar '06 10:33
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    I would like to know if the get PGN/FEN script can be adapted for the new games pages.
    It already is.

    D
  7. This is embarrasking
    Joined
    17 Nov '05
    Moves
    38581
    13 Mar '06 11:36
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    Doesn't that already happen?
    Not that I am aware of.
  8. This is embarrasking
    Joined
    17 Nov '05
    Moves
    38581
    13 Mar '06 11:40
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    I would like to know if the get PGN/FEN script can be adapted for the new games pages.
    Why?
  9. Standard memberXanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    p^2.sin(phi)
    Joined
    06 Sep '04
    Moves
    25076
    13 Mar '06 12:06
    Originally posted by cashthetrash
    Why?
    So that when I want the PGN of a game (say for looking up in my database for opening play or analysing a finished game or just because) I don't have to go via the History page.

    As for it already being fixed, this is what happens when developers isn't on the forums dropdown list. I forget to check it.

    Also I misread your initial request, I know the pieces taken updates automatically but you want a piece score total (9 for queen, 5 for rook etc.) and it has to update automatically. I know having it check on load is possible (count instances of certain images and multiply) but I don't know if autoupdate is possible.

    As Fred said, Ourborous is the man you want to talk to (check the developers forum).
  10. This is embarrasking
    Joined
    17 Nov '05
    Moves
    38581
    13 Mar '06 12:39
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    So that when I want the PGN of a game (say for looking up in my database for opening play or analysing a finished game or just because) I don't have to go via the History page.

    As for it already being fixed, this is what happens when developers isn't on the forums dropdown list. I forget to check it.

    Also I misread your initial request, I know the pi ...[text shortened]... ble.

    As Fred said, Ourborous is the man you want to talk to (check the developers forum).
    Yes, I can see your point and thanks. I sent an email yesterday, hopefully I will get a reply. Good luck.
  11. Subscriberouroboros
    Digital Alchemist
    Joined
    10 Sep '03
    Moves
    609382
    15 Mar '06 19:18
    Originally posted by cashthetrash
    Yes, I can see your point and thanks. I sent an email yesterday, hopefully I will get a reply. Good luck.
    Looking into this one. Appears tougher than I would have suspected because the "taken" pieces are seem to be generated by Javascript.
  12. Subscriberouroboros
    Digital Alchemist
    Joined
    10 Sep '03
    Moves
    609382
    27 Mar '06 23:18
    Okay, check out:

    http://members.shaw.ca/ouroboros/RHP/piececount.user.js

    Haven't tested it extensively so expect bugs. 🙂
  13. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    28 Mar '06 00:08
    Originally posted by ouroboros
    Okay, check out:

    http://members.shaw.ca/ouroboros/RHP/piececount.user.js

    Haven't tested it extensively so expect bugs. 🙂
    Could you rewrite it to take into account the position on the board when making the calculation? 😉

    D
  14. Subscriberouroboros
    Digital Alchemist
    Joined
    10 Sep '03
    Moves
    609382
    28 Mar '06 01:09
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    Could you rewrite it to take into account the position on the board when making the calculation? 😉

    D
    How so? It should dynamically update once after you have captured a piece on the board.
  15. Standard memberXanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    p^2.sin(phi)
    Joined
    06 Sep '04
    Moves
    25076
    28 Mar '06 06:10
    Originally posted by ouroboros
    How so? It should dynamically update once after you have captured a piece on the board.
    He was making a joke that you could add positional considerations to your algorithm and in effect create a crude position score somewhat similar to the way an engine does.
Back to Top