1. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    23 Feb '05 13:261 edit
    I am fishing for some feedback for a CSS technique I would like to use in a number of places. But I need to be happy it is supported by most current browsers over multiple platforms.

    It can be best demonstrated here :

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/beta/ex.php

    If you use a Mac or Liunux browser, I am particularly interested if this works ok.

    Tested without issue so far :
    (All Win 32 builds)
    Firefox 1.0
    IE 6.0
    Mozilla 1.6
    Opera 7.54

    Thanks in advance,

    -Russ
  2. Internet
    Joined
    01 Apr '04
    Moves
    16106
    23 Feb '05 16:39
    No glitches in

    * Safari 1.2.5
    * Firefox 1.0
    * IE 5.2

    running on Mac OS X 10.3.8.
  3. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    23 Feb '05 17:02
    Originally posted by Svin1
    No glitches in

    * Safari 1.2.5
    * Firefox 1.0
    * IE 5.2

    running on Mac OS X 10.3.8.
    Great, thanks for the feedback.

    -Russ
  4. Standard memberthire
    Xebite
    in front of you
    Joined
    06 Jan '03
    Moves
    15730
    23 Feb '05 17:21
    I was at universitey today and will be able to test and link a Linux-screenshot next week (not earlier, sorry - my last week of holidays 🙂 ).
    th
  5. Standard memberNemesio
    Ursulakantor
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Joined
    05 Mar '02
    Moves
    32455
    23 Feb '05 18:06
    Originally posted by Russ
    I am fishing for some feedback for a CSS technique I would like to use in a number of places. But I need to be happy it is supported by most current browsers over multiple platforms.

    It can be best demonstrated here :

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/beta/ex.php

    If you use a Mac or Liunux browser, I am particularly interested if this works ok.

    Tested w ...[text shortened]... (All Win 32 builds)
    Firefox 1.0
    IE 6.0
    Mozilla 1.6
    Opera 7.54

    Thanks in advance,

    -Russ
    Running Mac OS 10.3.8 and Safari 1.2.4,
    it gives two rows of icons with identical
    graphic images.

    I tested that all the links work and go to
    the same place.

    It seems you will be able to add Safari
    with 'no issues.'

    Nemesio
  6. Standard memberNemesio
    Ursulakantor
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Joined
    05 Mar '02
    Moves
    32455
    23 Feb '05 18:112 edits
    Edit: I figured out what was doing...

    When you are logged out, the top line gives the
    'logged out icons' but the bottom line gives the
    'logged in' ones. I am assuming that, for the
    purposes of this test, this is not significant.
  7. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    23 Feb '05 19:04
    Only the logged in icons are shown on the 2nd row.

    -Russ
  8. Standard memberNemesio
    Ursulakantor
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Joined
    05 Mar '02
    Moves
    32455
    23 Feb '05 23:21
    Originally posted by Russ
    Only the logged in icons are shown on the 2nd row.

    -Russ
    This is what I found, both with Explorer and Safari (even
    when logged out).

    Nemesio
  9. Standard memberthire
    Xebite
    in front of you
    Joined
    06 Jan '03
    Moves
    15730
    01 Mar '05 09:251 edit
    @Russ:
    check out my Linux-screenshots at
    http://fsmat.at/~thire/web/rhpbeta/
    I made them under redhat. I have access to some other Linux systems too.
    Tell me if you need any other screenshots.
    th
  10. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    01 Mar '05 10:37
    Brilliant, thanks.

    I think I will have to accept the slightly skewed links on konqueror30314.

    It worked better over all browsers than I expected, so I will roll out this new method of showing some images in the next release.

    -Russ
  11. Standard memberthire
    Xebite
    in front of you
    Joined
    06 Jan '03
    Moves
    15730
    01 Mar '05 16:591 edit
    I just checked out Konqueror 3.3.1 (using KDE 3.3.2) and it works fine (as far as I can see). BUt I wasn't able to take a screenshot.
    cool, ha? 😀
    th

    edit: "sleep 3&&import -window root screenshot.png" helped me...
    I added the new screenshot as well!
  12. Joined
    10 Feb '03
    Moves
    12969
    10 Mar '05 23:421 edit
    I was going to email some screenshots of a firefox bug at low screen resolutions but then thought: why bother; a description will do just as well: so here goes for nothing:
    When running firefox 1.0.1 (or 1.0) the red menu bar is truncated and does not show the "messages" or "games waiting" fields. Works fine on IE6 though.
    System: win XP, running at 800x600
  13. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 Mar '05 09:17
    I am slowly making progress with this new board code.

    I may beta the game history page first, as that presents no risk to games in progress. Expect something over the coming days.

    -Russ
  14. Standard memberskryking
    Seeking the Present
    Plainfield, IL
    Joined
    25 Aug '04
    Moves
    17574
    16 Mar '05 05:35
    I'm seeing one row of text followed by one row of icons using firefox 1.0 on gentoo linux at 1280x800.

    http://www.skryking.net/firefox_1_0_gentoo_linux_1280x800.png

    Skryking
  15. Standard memberthire
    Xebite
    in front of you
    Joined
    06 Jan '03
    Moves
    15730
    16 Mar '05 07:27
    there is just one row...?!? 🙁
    th
Back to Top