1. Joined
    29 Nov '04
    Moves
    63086
    21 Feb '05 21:00
    Reposting as the other thread got interupted- my question was going to be, before I got blasted by a popup (seriously) - is it just me or has RHP become a huge source of pop-ups? I run adaware and can't be on RHP for more than 5 minutes before adaware will find a new data miner, tracking cookie, or other nasty; and, while on RHP, I'm constantly interupted by ads for online casinos, get--rick-quick scams, and many many more. This all seems to have started recently. Anyone else seeing the same? Or hints on what's going on/changed?
  2. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    21 Feb '05 21:06
    Originally posted by clive59
    Reposting as the other thread got interupted- my question was going to be, before I got blasted by a popup (seriously) - is it just me or has RHP become a huge source of pop-ups? I run adaware and can't be on RHP for more than 5 minutes before adaware will find a new data miner, tracking cookie, or other nasty; and, while on RHP, I'm constantly interupted ...[text shortened]... ems to have started recently. Anyone else seeing the same? Or hints on what's going on/changed?
    Haven't had any problems like this.

    I use firefox which stops pop-ups.

    It sounds like u've got adware. Try scanning using xoftspy. Its good.

    D
  3. Standard memberAiko
    Nearing 200000...!
    Joined
    23 Mar '04
    Moves
    208425
    21 Feb '05 21:08
    Not on this computer; safari (with pop-killer active) on Mac OS 10.3. Sure it is RHP and not just your system (as in Windows); a virus or sometiing that might cause this?
  4. Joined
    10 Feb '03
    Moves
    12969
    21 Feb '05 21:20
    It sounds much more like your PC has a virus: it's boot-up virus scan time I'm afraid.
  5. Joined
    03 Sep '03
    Moves
    86119
    21 Feb '05 21:36
    Originally posted by Toe
    It sounds much more like your PC has a virus: it's boot-up virus scan time I'm afraid.
    Gonna have to agree.
    I use RHP on windows and mac. I dont have any popup blocking software, and get no popups here. Looks like somebody's computer caught a virus.

    OR:
    http://www.macfixit.com/

    Looks like the advertisers found another way around popup blockers...
    --tmetzler

  6. Standard memberMIODude
    me, not you
    CaNaDa
    Joined
    25 Nov '04
    Moves
    46658
    21 Feb '05 21:53
    Same here.. no popups.. and I'm using regular Internet Explorer where popups breed!..
    do a ctl-alt-del.. check for things like bargains.exe, or other spyware activitiy.. if you do a ctl-alt-del, and post what you have running I can probably tell you which one you have.. Most likely, if you just list the last 12 things in your Task Manager, one of the culprits would be listed there.. they usually aren't at the top
  7. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    21 Feb '05 22:55
    I can assure you we do not use pop up ads on this site. Any problems lie elsewhere.

    -Russ
  8. Donationmwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    Joined
    25 Feb '01
    Moves
    57767
    22 Feb '05 00:44
    As a subscriber, aren't you supposed to be free of all the ads that a non-subscriber is exposed to? That is my understanding anyway.

    If that is true, then if you are seeing advertisements they must be coming from elsewhere....

    regards, Marc
  9. Joined
    29 Nov '04
    Moves
    63086
    23 Feb '05 03:10
    thanks for all the posts, esp code-monkey's. I do not have a virus (just updated defs and full scanned) but have updated ad-aware and ad-watch with latest defs and they're catching tracking cookies all over the place. I'll post any further info if it pertains to RHP .. perhaps it's to do with my ISP...
  10. Joined
    29 Nov '04
    Moves
    63086
    23 Feb '05 03:12
    ...... though I do have a nasty virus that keeps making my rating go down ....
  11. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    23 Feb '05 13:17
    Originally posted by clive59
    thanks for all the posts, esp code-monkey's. I do not have a virus (just updated defs and full scanned) but have updated ad-aware and ad-watch with latest defs and they're catching tracking cookies all over the place. I'll post any further info if it pertains to RHP .. perhaps it's to do with my ISP...
    Tracking cookies are part of the course really - every ad network will serve them.

    -Russ
  12. Joined
    31 Dec '04
    Moves
    20209
    25 Feb '05 12:14
    No problems with ANTIVIR or FIREWAL antyvirus programs, it stops all pop-ups
    Download only THE BEST antyvirus programs!!!! 😀
Back to Top