1. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 May '05 12:554 edits
    I thought I better stop giving everyone the same old line about ‘please be patient, things are coming, etc’...and show some of the work in progress. I was nearly finished with this work over a month ago, but I have been sidetracked by some work outside the site.

    Anyway, rather than wait any longer before making it available, I have packaged one of the more interesting things in the works and uploaded it as a demo. I set out to create the best board interface possible without using a plug-ins, such as Java & Flash. Demoing this now should reveal any early problems.

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/demo/index.php?gameid=1054591
    (You must be logged in to view)

    Notes :
    -The game ids can be changed by modifying the URL. (User friendly, eh?) Old’ish games may not be accessible with this demo – so stay with fairly recent games.
    -All images are temporary/incomplete - and need more work. Some boards and pieces are still missing from this demo
    -You may move pieces around when the game is not playing (Note, no green square at the moment).
    -This is the core of the new move board interface as well as the game history viewer – all animated ( including en passant and castling – prior to the move being submitted.) -This code will also form the basis of the new much improved analysis tool.

    Slightly more techy notes :
    -The entire game history is created from moves in JS rather than the traditional way of creating FENs on the server and passing them to the client JS script. This means your computer works, not our server ๐Ÿ™‚ (but the saving is almost insignificant, truth be told)
    -Anyone who has created external tools to read the RHP FENS in the past will find their stuff will not work in the future. Please speak to me soon if you want to know how I can support your tools.
    -You will notice the JS source code is mainly obfuscated. Sorry about that if you are the curious type, but there is a lot of work in there, and I am not ready to release it yet. Once I have finished (and added PGN parsing), I will probably distribute the source code to those who are interested so others can have a DHTML only animated boards (with navigation) on their sites. I am not committing to this quite yet, but I think it would be nice to share this if people like it.

    Supported browsers:
    The recent stealthy release (which added no new functionality to the site) has set me up now for a whole range of new features. But, they are all dependant on recent browsers. (I posted something about this in Site announcements last week) Anyway, some browsers just do not work with this new board code. I will maintain a revision of the current board interface (one bonus of my recent efforts is that any number of board interfaces can be supported easily, so hang on in there those after the PDA/mobile version).

    But, to use a lot of the new stuff, you will need a modern browser.
    So far, I have tested this on IE 6, Firefox and Safari 1.3. All are good. Konqueror worked with a past version. I am particularly interested in anyone using IE 5.X on Windows though. Mac IE 5.X is completely broken, and I will not be supporting this browser in future. There is surely no good reason to still be using it anyway, right? (Go on, prove me wrong&hellip๐Ÿ˜‰

    Anyway, there you have it. I better scurry back to the work I am meant to be doing at the moment…

    -Russ
  2. Internet
    Joined
    01 Apr '04
    Moves
    16106
    11 May '05 13:251 edit
    Flawless in Safari 2.0 and Camino 0.8.4 on a Mac.

    Will it be possible to 'lock' a certain position when you use analyse board in the future?

    Oh, and thanks for the sneak peek!
  3. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 May '05 13:36
    Yes, analysis moves can be stepped through in the same way existing moves can.

    -Russ
  4. Internet
    Joined
    01 Apr '04
    Moves
    16106
    11 May '05 13:44
    I think my question was unclear. What I meant was: Will it be possible to move around the pieces on the analysis board and then lock the position so you can go back to this fantasy position again? When I try to calculate a line, I often do the same first moves over and over again in the process and it would be very nice to do the initial moves once and then lock the position.
  5. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 May '05 13:49
    Well, that is a new idea to me, but I see no reason why I can't add that. (The alternative is you just step back to this fantasy position anyway.)

    -Russ
  6. Standard memberMoldy Crow
    Your Eminence
    Scunthorpe
    Joined
    16 Dec '04
    Moves
    13395
    11 May '05 14:44
    Russ-
    It doesn't take stains out of my shirts and order out for pizza too ? This sucks !
    I've got to check this out on a better computer . I'm afraid it will crash my dino100 I'm presently on .
    The question I want to know , and you'd better have a damned good answer to , Russ - WHY ARE YOU WORKING ON YOUR VACATION ? Get the hell out of here ! Go somewhere nice with the wife and forget about us bums for a while !
  7. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 May '05 14:51
    Originally posted by Moldy Crow
    Russ-
    It doesn't take stains out of my shirts and order out for pizza too ? This sucks !
    I've got to check this out on a better computer . I'm afraid it will crash my dino100 I'm presently on .
    The question I want to know , and you'd better have a damned good answer to , Russ - WHY ARE YOU WORKING ON YOUR VACATION ? Get the hell out of here ! Go somewhere nice with the wife and forget about us bums for a while !
    Unfortunately, I am not on vacation, just doing some work for someone else on a tight deadline. But when it is all over, I may well head off to the sun.

    -Russ
  8. Standard memberAlcra
    Lazy Sod
    Everywhere
    Joined
    12 Oct '04
    Moves
    8623
    11 May '05 14:52
    Originally posted by Moldy Crow
    Russ-
    It doesn't take stains out of my shirts and order out for pizza too ? This sucks !
    I've got to check this out on a better computer . I'm afraid it will crash my dino100 I'm presently on .
    The question I want to know , and you'd better have a damned good answer to , Russ - WHY ARE YOU WORKING ON YOUR VACATION ? Get the hell out of here ! Go somewhere nice with the wife and forget about us bums for a while !
    "dino100" - LMAO.

  9. Standard memberCrowley
    Not Aleister
    Control room
    Joined
    17 Apr '02
    Moves
    91690
    11 May '05 15:40
    Looks fine in all the browsers I usually use and test with, including Avant, which I never use.
    FYI, looks funky in Opera 7.23 though:
    http://www.aargh.co.za/images/nb_opera.gif
  10. Internet
    Joined
    01 Apr '04
    Moves
    16106
    11 May '05 15:47
    Originally posted by Russ
    Well, that is a new idea to me, but I see no reason why I can't add that. (The alternative is you just step back to this fantasy position anyway.)

    -Russ
    It's mentioned here:

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=20479
  11. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 May '05 16:21
    Originally posted by Crowley
    Looks fine in all the browsers I usually use and test with, including Avant, which I never use.
    FYI, looks funky in Opera 7.23 though:
    http://www.aargh.co.za/images/nb_opera.gif
    Yikes.
  12. Standard memberAiko
    Nearing 200000...!
    Joined
    23 Mar '04
    Moves
    208425
    11 May '05 16:40
    It looks great. I would only suggest to alter the positions of the board control buttons, group the related ones a bit together to avoid the occasional click on the neighbourly but wrong button. Lookt very good though!
  13. The sky
    Joined
    05 Apr '05
    Moves
    10385
    11 May '05 17:24
    Originally posted by Crowley
    Looks fine in all the browsers I usually use and test with, including Avant, which I never use.
    FYI, looks funky in Opera 7.23 though:
    http://www.aargh.co.za/images/nb_opera.gif
    Yes, in Opera 7.54 as well... And when using the fast animation, it gets worse - the pieces (i.e. all those white kings ๐Ÿ™‚ ) don't even always end up in the middle of a square. I think they move only half the way. Very weird. I guess it's time I update my browser...
  14. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1795
    11 May '05 17:32
    Hold fire, this is fixable. I am sure I tested Opera early on and it worked ok. In fact, because the navigation buttons are rendered OK, I know this can be fixed. (By tomorrow AM)


    -Russ
  15. Standard memberXanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    p^2.sin(phi)
    Joined
    06 Sep '04
    Moves
    25076
    11 May '05 18:59
    Looks fine on Firefox 1.01 on XP.
Back to Top