1. Standard memberAynat
    Dog Companion
    Rain Forest
    Moves
    30 Mar '05 08:202 edits
    I read the post by shav about eternity with Christians and laughed and laughed until....I realized what it meant about the message that lots of Christians are sending out into the world...

I am no expert but when I think about Jesus...I think about water becoming wine to keep a celebration going, a picnic on a hillside with plenty for all and lots left over, many suppers with friends and storytellings and an occasional healing or saving. Didn't he hang with whomever (leper, tax collector, prosititute, fishermen, tentmaker) wanted to hang with him? I don't recall him forcing himself or his ideas on anyone. I don't recall judgement or damnation.

Yes, I recall the incident at the temple...so even Jesus could lose his cool...but I don't recall him calling down a rain of hellfire eternal damnation on those people.

Weren't his last words as a man about forgiveness and making sure his Mom would be okay?

Again, I could be wrong but when Jesus left, didn't he say to spread the word but also to tend the poor, feed the hungry, visit the sick and imprisioned? Weren't we told to love one another? Weren't we told to do as he had done?

Obviously, I am a christian of sorts...maybe not a great one by some of what I have read in the forums (actually, not a very good one by my own lights)

I think it may be time to go dancing and have a drink with some friends and share a story or two. Of course, I could be wrong....
  2. NY
    Moves
    30 Mar '05 08:23
    drinkn with friends sounds good to me... what bar? ill nuy the first round..😵
  3. Standard memberfrogstomp
    Bruno's Ghost
    In a hot place
    Moves
    30 Mar '05 08:34
    Originally posted by Aynat
    I read the post by shav about eternity with Christians and laughed and laughed until....I realized what it meant about the message that lots of Christians are sending out into the world...