1. Inside my mind
    Moves
    03 May '07 01:32
    Is what we experience on a daily basis real? Are the objects sat on my desk in front of me, my computer real? Are all of you out there who read this and reply real? Could it not just be my mind responding to electrical stimulation in effect creating everything just in my head?

Are we not the cause then of our universe? Why can I not change my world by thinking of something different? If I look out of my window and see a red car, my friend stood next to me sees the same, then surely that red car must exist, or is my friend a creation in my head too?

Or maybe all our thoughts our mind is just matter. Thoughts are electrical processes that can be measured and recorded. If they can be measured and recorded then they must be objects, so the world around us is just that, lumps of matter.

I now have no idea what the hell I'm talking about, I've confused myself, as you can see I am no expert on philosophy, these are just my own thoughts as recently I have been questioning my actions and what the universe is.

I would however, love to hear some of your thoughts on reality and our world, as I have come to realise there are some very intelligent people here. Not sure if this belongs in spirituality but seemed the best choice.

Thanks,

Sangfroid
  2. Standard memberamannion
    Andrew Mannion
    Melbourne, Australia
    Moves
    03 May '07 01:51
    Originally posted by sangfroid
    Is what we experience on a daily basis real? Are the objects sat on my desk in front of me, my computer real? Are all of you out there who read this and reply real? Could it not just be my mind responding to electrical stimulation in effect creating everything just in my head?

Are we not the cause then of our universe? Why can I not change my world by t ...[text shortened]... . Not sure if this belongs in spirituality but seemed the best choice.

Thanks,

Sangfroid