1. Donationrwingett
    Ming the Merciless
    Royal Oak, MI
    Moves
    09 Jan '10 14:57
    I have been collecting foreign currency for several years now and have amassed a fairly extensive collection (I have at least one banknote from every country in the world). To the best of my knowledge, there are only two countries in the entire world which invoke a deity on their currency: the United States and Kuwait. US currency has "In God We Trust" printed on the back, while Kuwait's has "We Seek God's Assistance" on the back of its. Not even a theocracy like Iran invokes a deity on their currency.

But my knowledge may be incomplete. I neither have every banknote issued by every government, nor am I able to read all of what's printed on the ones I do have. Does anyone know of any other examples of countries invoking a deity on their currency? Or on their coins?

What also strikes me as peculiar are the number of Muslim countries who have the front of their currency printed in Arabic, while the back is printed in English or French. To use Kuwait as an example, the front is printed in Arabic, so I have no idea what it says. On the back, however, printed clearly in English, is the phrase, "We Seek God's Assistance."

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/49/1_Kuwait-Dinar(1994).jpg

Even Iran, with its animosity toward the US, has the front of its currency printed in Arabic, while the back is printed entirely in English. For example, you can clearly read, "Central Bank of the Islamic Republic of Iran." I have no idea why they would do that. Does anyone? Libya is one of the few examples that prints both the front and back entirely in Arabic.
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    09 Jan '10 15:53
    Originally posted by rwingett