1. Unknown Territories
    Moves
    13 Jan '06 04:401 edit
    This thread is an attempt to inform on the biblical perspective of when life begins, humanly speaking.
    I am not an expert on theology, biology, Hebrew, Chaldean or Greek. I would not even rate my understanding of the level of student, yet. More student-wannabe, for the time being.
    Nonetheless, it is profitable for the believer to study theology and the mentioned subjects to make the issue (and attendant issues) more perspicuous.
    Profit for the unbeliever is unknown; however, it is assumed those reading are--- at least--- of an open mind.

The opening chapters of Genesis utilize four verbs in describing God's creation of human life.
    BARA 'to create from nothing.' Generating inorganic matter from nothing previously existing, God created the heavens and the earth, provided life to animals, and humans.

1:27
    And God created [bara] man in His own image, in the image of God, He created [bara] him; male and female he created [bara] them.

YATSAR 'formed.' While Adam's life, animal life, were created from nothing, Adam in particular was unique, in that his body was formed from dust, itself already existing.

2:7
    the the LORD God formed [yatsar] man of dust from the ground.

Biological life, while material, does not include a human soul, which is immaterial.

ASAH 'to make' or manufacture, after a pattern.

1:26
    The God said, "Let Us make [asah] man in Our image, according to Our likeness."

The pattern was Himself, betselem and 'likeness.' Today's Hebrew echoes the ancient image, in that it speaks of spiritual similarity, rather than a physical, or bodily similarity. As such, man is not a duplication of God (blasphemous), but rather, a shadow image, invisible, but real.

WHO GIVES HUMAN LIFE?