???

Standard memberclandarkfire
Sports 03 Jul '10 19:49
  1. Standard memberclandarkfire
    Grammar Nazi
    Auschwitz
    Joined
    03 Apr '06
    Moves
    44348
    03 Jul '10 19:491 edit
    What just happened?

    Why the redone penalty?
  2. Joined
    10 Nov '05
    Moves
    30185
    03 Jul '10 19:59
    The ref felt he wasn't getting enough attention.
  3. Joined
    30 Sep '08
    Moves
    2996
    03 Jul '10 20:30
    Originally posted by ElleEffSeee
    The ref felt he wasn't getting enough attention.
    Isn't that the truth. Batres is an egomaniac incompetent ref!
  4. Joined
    30 Sep '08
    Moves
    2996
    03 Jul '10 20:31
    Originally posted by clandarkfire
    What just happened?

    Why the redone penalty?
    Spaniard entered the box before PK was taken. Retake because of unfair rebound advantage as in basketball.
  5. Standard memberDaemon Sin
    I'm A Mighty Pirate™
    PaTROLLING the forum
    Joined
    01 Dec '04
    Moves
    36332
    03 Jul '10 22:42
    Originally posted by scacchipazzo
    Spaniard entered the box before PK was taken. Retake because of unfair rebound advantage as in basketball.
    Shame he didn't spot the 3 Spanish players encroaching on the Paraguay penalty.
  6. Joined
    30 Sep '08
    Moves
    2996
    03 Jul '10 22:51
    Originally posted by Daemon Sin
    Shame he didn't spot the 3 Spanish players encroaching on the Paraguay penalty.
    Encroachment is a dumb rule, but a rule nonetheless. That's the thing about these refs. Missed that encroachment, missed the Villar take down of a Spaniard in the box after the PK retake which would have meant another PK and missed sending off Paraguayan who was cause for the PK. Really uneven, inconsistent rules application. Like Suarez yesterday it should have been a sendoff.
  7. Standard memberPalynka
    Upward Spiral
    Halfway
    Joined
    02 Aug '04
    Moves
    8702
    03 Jul '10 23:12
    Originally posted by Daemon Sin
    Shame he didn't spot the 3 Spanish players encroaching on the Paraguay penalty.
    Yes, but they were from the defending team so no repetition unless he defends the penalty.
  8. Joined
    09 Jun '04
    Moves
    39731
    03 Jul '10 23:35
    Originally posted by Palynka
    Yes, but they were from the defending team so no repetition unless he defends the penalty.
    The rule book states:

    If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:

    <cut out the other potential things that can happen>

    a team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game*:
    - the referee allows the kick to be taken
    - if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
    - if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken
    *e.g. not being 10 yards from the spot.

    It should have been retaken, the ref must have simply not seen it.
  9. Standard memberkaroly aczel
    the Devil himself
    Brisbane,QLD
    Joined
    11 Apr '09
    Moves
    91905
    04 Jul '10 03:21
    Y'know if it goes in ,then players encroaching in the penalty box is a non-issue.
    Spain scored from the penalty, Paraguay missed.
    But rules are rules and...Gosh ...Spain deserved it. End of story. With Brazil out Spain should win.(Despite Germany)
  10. Standard memberLundos
    Back to basics
    About
    Joined
    11 Dec '04
    Moves
    68699
    04 Jul '10 03:501 edit
    I'm pretty much what you call a football fan. Been so for all my life. My backyard when I grew up was literally a football field. I've won numerous titles as a kid at a regional and national level. I'm still playing football albeit at a low level. If the refereeing continues at this level, I'm quitting watching the WC. It's pathetic ... to say the least.
  11. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    10260
    04 Jul '10 12:02
    Originally posted by hopscotch
    The rule book states:

    [quote]If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:

    <cut out the other potential things that can happen>

    a team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game*:
    - the referee allows the kick to be taken
    - if the ball enters the goa ...[text shortened]... ng 10 yards from the spot.

    It should have been retaken, the ref must have simply not seen it.
    i agree with you about the rule but how he didn't see it is beyond me.

    he was worse than the ref in the uruguay match. 4 quartarfinals, 3 terrible refs. seriously fifa sort it out ffs.
  12. Standard memberPalynka
    Upward Spiral
    Halfway
    Joined
    02 Aug '04
    Moves
    8702
    04 Jul '10 13:032 edits
    Originally posted by hopscotch
    The rule book states:

    [quote]If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:

    <cut out the other potential things that can happen>

    a team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game*:
    - the referee allows the kick to be taken
    - if the ball enters the goa ...[text shortened]... ng 10 yards from the spot.

    It should have been retaken, the ref must have simply not seen it.
    Wrong!

    http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affederation/generic/81/42/36/lawsofthegame_2010_11_e.pdf

    FIFA Laws of the game

    If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken
    and, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:
    [...]

    a team-mate of the player taking the kick infringes the Laws of the Game:
    • the referee allows the kick to be taken
    • if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
    • if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the defending team from the place where the infringement occurred

    a team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
    • the referee allows the kick to be taken
    • if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
    • if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken
  13. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    10260
    04 Jul '10 13:13
    Originally posted by Palynka
    Wrong!
    [/quote]
    a team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
    • the referee allows the kick to be taken
    • if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
    • if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken

    • if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken

    pen should've been taken again. end of story.
  14. Standard memberPalynka
    Upward Spiral
    Halfway
    Joined
    02 Aug '04
    Moves
    8702
    04 Jul '10 13:402 edits
    Originally posted by trev33
    a team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
    • the referee allows the kick to be taken
    • if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
    • if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken

    [b]• if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken


    pen should've been taken again. end of story.[/b]
    You're obviously correct. I somehow was thinking that the pen went in... 😕

    SELF FAIL 😞
Back to Top