Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Sports Forum

Sports Forum

  1. 04 Apr '13 11:59
    This question was posted in the puzzles forum.

    Every batsmen in an innings gets bowled first ball. Which number batsman is not out?


    I assume the answer being looked for is 8. But I can think of 2 conceivable scenarios in which the answer would not be 8. There may well be more.

    Answers, please.
  2. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 13:48
    One or more of the batsmen may have been bowled first ball off a no ball and then got out - not bowled - later, after scoring however many runs.
  3. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:07
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    I can think of 2 conceivable scenarios in which the answer would not be 8. There may well be more.
    In our scenario, what year does it take place in and how many balls are there in an over: 4, 5, 6 or 8?
  4. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:10
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    There may well be more.
    Are there any batswomen in the side?
  5. 04 Apr '13 15:11
    Originally posted by FMF
    One or more of the batsmen may have been bowled first ball off a no ball and then got out - not bowled - later, after scoring however many runs.
    Debatable. From the laws of cricket, I cannot immediately tell whether you are 'bowled' if it is a no ball. It does say that you cannot be out 'bowled' on a no ball which suggests that possibly you can be 'bowled' and not out, and 'bowled' and out.

    So I will give you a point, grudgingly.



    I still have two other scenarios, which do not involve such shenanigans.
  6. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:12
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    Every batsmen in an innings gets bowled first ball. Which number batsman is not out?
    With things going so dreadfully, did they use a nightwatchman?
  7. 04 Apr '13 15:13
    Originally posted by FMF
    In our scenario, what year does it take place in and how many balls are there in an over: 4, 5, 6 or 8?
    Well done. One of the scenarios is the match is taking place in a year and place when there was more or less than 6 balls in an over.

    I have one left.
  8. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:15
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    I still have two other scenarios, which do not involve such shenanigans.
    Mindful of Mat Prior's series-saving ton in Auckland, when you say they were "bowled", did the bails actually come off in each case?
  9. 04 Apr '13 15:17
    Originally posted by FMF
    Are there any batswomen in the side?
    Do women refer to themselves at batswomen? I thought they used the term batsmen.

    No point as yet for that one.
  10. 04 Apr '13 15:19
    Originally posted by FMF
    With things going so dreadfully, did they use a nightwatchman?
    Good idea. But doesn't that make them 'promoted' to number 3? So the batsman who is out is different, but not the number.
  11. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:20
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    Every batsmen in an innings gets bowled first ball. Which number batsman is not out?
    If only two was required to win - and there was a wide or a no ball - maybe only 3 batsmen batted in the innings which was declared with scores level.
  12. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:22
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    Good idea. But doesn't that make them 'promoted' to number 3?
    Well, gosh. You tell me. We'll have to wait for Ask The Umpire, TMS, 2nd test v NZ, 2012.
  13. Subscriber FMF
    Main Poster
    04 Apr '13 15:23
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    Do women refer to themselves at batswomen? I thought they used the term batsmen.
    I don't have the same fond regard for the 1950s as you appear to have, old chap.
  14. 04 Apr '13 15:26
    Originally posted by FMF
    Mindful of Mat Prior's series-saving ton in Auckland, when you say they were "bowled", did the bails actually come off in each case?
    The term bowled, in the laws of cricket, talks about the wicket being 'put down'. I think if the wicket remains intact, you are not only not out, but you would not have been bowled either (even allowing for the idea that you can be bowled and not out, as per the no ball suggestion).
  15. 04 Apr '13 15:31 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by FMF
    I don't have the same fond regard for the 1950s as you appear to have, old chap.
    Rachael Louise Haynes (born 26 December 1986) is a female Australian cricketer. Predominantly a batsman, she is a member of the Australian team. Haynes plays for Victoria in the Women's National Cricket League (WNCL).


    Source : Wikipedia

    As with all things on this site, anything Wiki does is by definition correct.