1. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    09 Jan '07 03:21
    What happens when a team from a tough conference meets one from a much weaker conference?
  2. Standard memberwhirlpool
    absolute beginner
    inside
    Moves
    09 Jan '07 03:56
    Originally posted by Wulebgr
    What happens when a team from a tough conference meets one from a much weaker conference?
    Wisconsin beat Arkansas
    Penn State beat Tennessee

not sure what your point is ...
  3. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    09 Jan '07 04:18
    Originally posted by whirlpool
    watch the game, then think about the strength of schedule claims of the SEC vs. Big-10.
  4. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    09 Jan '07 16:11
    Wisconsin beat Arkansas
    Both SEC teams had three losses prior to the bowls. Both lost to Florida.

USC beat Arkansas by a huge margin. Arkansas beat Tennessee convincingly. Wisconsin did not play Ohio State (making both schedules weaker). Penn State's losses were to the top Big Ten teams, and represent the most impressive wins for two of the three.

Nearly all of Florida's opponents played bowl games, and they racked up a 7-3 record in their bowls. Michigan was crushed by USC.

The Big Ten is a strong conference with a solid tradition. However, the SEC and Pac-10 are both tougher conferences. It should be beyond doubt at this point that an OSU-Michigan rematch would have left the best teams out of the title game.

OSU gets a final #2 ranking as a courtesy, but they should be no higher than #5.
  5. over there
    Moves
    09 Jan '07 22:51
    Wisconsin beat Arkansas

Thank you. The Big Ten is 2-1 against the SEC this year. Penn State wasn't even ranked, and smashed Tennessee. Wisconsin had almost no offense at all during their game with Arkansas and still won.
  6. Standard memberslimjim
    Death from Above
    El Paso, TX
    Moves
    10 Jan '07 03:25