1. Joined
    05 Jan '04
    Moves
    19 May '09 13:43
    I have recently begun researching synths and drum machines on vintagesynthexplorer.com and other sites, as well as recording software, to begin creating my home studio.

Right now I have a Gibson ES-335 guitar, Fender Super Reverb Blackface Modded amplifier, and an old Roland DDD-1 drum machine.

I am looking to buy within the next few months a small but powerful synthesizer (such as a MicroKorg or an Alesis Micorn), a sampler like the Akai MCX2000 and a drum machine with GREAT (not just good) kick and snare sounds (like the classic 808). I'll also need a new desktop to handle all this trash.

Does anyone here have any extensive knowledge on this stuff and would like to share? Any advice for me? Any recommendations or advice on gear, particularly on the synthesizer? I am still a noob but I am extremely determined to write the next Trans-Europe Express.

Thanks.
  2. Standard memberSeitse
    Doug Stanhope
    That's Why I Drink
    Moves
    19 May '09 13:44
    Show off.
  3. Joined
    05 Jan '04
    Moves
    19 May '09 13:59
    Originally posted by Seitse
    Show off.
    What can I say? I'm sorry I like music. However, I know I'm not the only one here who has the capability to perform and record on their own.
  4. Standard memberSeitse
    Doug Stanhope
    That's Why I Drink
    Moves
    19 May '09 14:01
    Originally posted by darvlay
    What can I say? I'm sorry I like music. However, I know I'm not the only one here who has the capability to perform and record on their own.
    Show off.
  5. Account suspended
    Moves
    19 May '09 14:012 edits