Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 08 Mar '07 17:34
    what happens if i want to take a pawn en passant but there is another of his men there where i would land?
  2. 08 Mar '07 17:37
    I do not think that initial pawn move would be legal, please correct me should I be wrong...wouldn't the opponents pawn have to "jump" one of his own men?
  3. 08 Mar '07 17:38
    Originally posted by tiggr
    what happens if i want to take a pawn en passant but there is another of his men there where i would land?
    You can only take en passant at the moment the pawn moves 2 spaces forward. If you decline then you can never do it again with that pawn.

    When the pawn moves 2 spaces forward you have two choices.

    1.Take the pawn en passant.

    2. Do something else but you can never take that pawn en passant again.


    Thus to answer your question, There would never be another of his men there where you would land.
  4. 08 Mar '07 17:39
    en passant requires a two-square move so there is no way a piece could be on the square that you land...do you have an example of this?
  5. 08 Mar '07 17:51
    Originally posted by 93confirmed
    en passant requires a two-square move so there is no way a piece could be on the square that you land...do you have an example of this?
    if black moves his knight to f6, i move my pawn to e4 then he moves his kings pawn to e5. i'v never used en passant so i am really trying to learn. p.s. thanks for the guidance.
  6. 08 Mar '07 18:05
    Originally posted by tiggr
    if black moves his knight to f6, i move my pawn to e4 then he moves his kings pawn to e5. i'v never used en passant so i am really trying to learn. p.s. thanks for the guidance.
    This would not be a situation in which you can capture en passant. En passant works as in the following example:

    You are white, and have a pawn on e5. Black has a pawn on d7. Black moves his pawn to d5, in an attempt to 'sneak by' without give your e5 pawn the chance to capture. On your first opportunity (i.e., the very next move), you have the option of capturing that pawn on d6, as though it had only moved one square.
  7. 08 Mar '07 18:11
    if white has a pawn on e5 and black moves his pawn d7 to d5 then white can take that pawn with e5xd6 using the en-passant rule (because the black pawn passed a square under attack by the opposing pawn).
  8. 08 Mar '07 18:13
    LOL wow, we both unknowingly gave the same example!
  9. 08 Mar '07 18:14
    Originally posted by ChessJester
    if white has a pawn on e5 and black moves his pawn d7 to d5 then white can take that pawn with e5xd6 using the en-passant rule (because the black pawn passed a square under attack by the opposing pawn).
    thanks for the advice to both of you. this forum is a breath of fresh air after trying to read some of the others.
  10. Standard member Ragnorak
    For RHP addons...
    08 Mar '07 18:23
    Originally posted by tiggr
    what happens if i want to take a pawn en passant but there is another of his men there where i would land?
    http://www.timeforchess.com/help/index.php?help=enpassant

    D
  11. 08 Mar '07 20:33
    Originally posted by ChessJester
    LOL wow, we both unknowingly gave the same example!
    he put his up 6 minutes before you...
    so you either copied him, or you are really, REALLY slow at typing a simple en passant example...
  12. 08 Mar '07 20:41
    Originally posted by tiggr
    what happens if i want to take a pawn en passant but there is another of his men there where i would land?
    That's impossible.
  13. 08 Mar '07 21:54
    Originally posted by rubberjaw30
    he put his up 6 minutes before you...
    so you either copied him, or you are really, REALLY slow at typing a simple en passant example...
    Or he read the thread (last post) 6 minutes later.

    Get over yourself.
  14. Standard member Wulebgr
    Angler
    09 Mar '07 01:13
    Here's an en passant situation from an actual game:




    White threatens checkmate with the queen and bishop battery bearing down on h7, and the other bishop covering f8. To stop the checkmate, black played

    18...f5

    White replied with the en passant capture 19.exf7,
    renewing the checkmate threat.

    The game finished 19...Kf7 20.Qxh7+ Kf6 21.Qg7#

    Hope this helps.

    You also might look at http://www.rockfordchess.org/instruction/minilessons/EnPassant.PDF (Probably the most useful single page I've seen on the subject.)
  15. 09 Mar '07 13:27
    Message log
    Move Player Message
    50 White that was so wrong! how did you capyure that piece it wasn't in that spot it was next to you.
    50 Black i thought you might ask that. en passant.
    51 White well if thats the way you play!
    (offers draw)
    51 Black that's the way everybody plays. no draw thankyou, i have four passed pawns.
    52 White what a cheating move is how everyone plays -- sorry but i don't buy it.
    (white resigns)

    possibly white thought i was swearing at him in french.