1. Joined
    18 Jun '11
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 17:56
    Morning all,

I'm very new to the game of chess. I know how the pieces move, and I've played a few games with my brother (who is just as new as I am), but besides that, it's all quite foreign.

I want to learn the game so I become an intellectual. (Half joking here.)

Could anyone give me some basic pointers? They would be much appreciated!

Savielly
  2. Joined
    12 Mar '03
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 18:10
    very new to chess?
  3. Joined
    18 Jun '11
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 18:13
    I'd say about a 7 on a scale of one to new.
  4. Standard memberatticus2
    Frustrate the Bad
    Liverpool
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 19:30
    I'd say you're not new to chess. I'd say you're a brazen liar, or a juksende drittsekk. You see, I've just played through your games. Evidence is everything. Sorry, schmuck
  5. Joined
    11 Aug '08
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 19:48
    Originally posted by Savielly

I want to learn the game so I become an intellectual. (Half joking here.)
    Savielly
    Read these forums for a little while and you will definitely stop believing that chess is the game of the intellectual 😉
  6. Joined
    18 Jun '11
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 23:16

This post is unavailable.

Please refer to our posting guidelines.

7. Joined
    18 Jun '11
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 23:201 edit
    Well, with the help of Google Translate, I can see that you called me a huijaaminen kusipää. Why?

I consider myself a very poor chess player and a beginner. I asked for help. You insulted me.
    Why?.
  8. Joined
    16 Feb '07
    Moves
    18 Jun '11 23:28
    Presumably because your games indicate that you are far from a beginner. Either:

1) You are pretending not to know anything about chess or
    2) You don't know anything about chess and are getting help with the moves in your games.

Its not really believable that someone who has just played a few games with his brother can play so strongly.