1. Joined
    05 Oct '06
    Moves
    03 Apr '08 22:09
    I read where if one was to travel close to the speed of light you would age slower then on earth. For example: you got on a spaceship and went at 90% the speed pf light for about 5 years and then come back to earth. You been gone for about 10 years but on earth you been gone for about (just say about) 1000 years. If this make sense.
    What ya’ll thoughts on this?
  2. Joined
    17 Jul '07
    Moves
    04 Apr '08 01:21
    Einstein's theory of relativity proves a lot of the time slows. I'm not an expert, but the faster
    a thing moves, the slower the time passes around it. Perhaps light is walking the line between the 4th and 5th dimension?
  3. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    04 Apr '08 11:04
    Originally posted by Petman3000
    Einstein's theory of relativity proves a lot of the time slows. I'm not an expert, but the faster
    a thing moves, the slower the time passes around it. Perhaps light is walking the line between the 4th and 5th dimension?
    You mean the time dimension and another time dimension?
    Do you think there are two time dimensions, one on each side of the light speed?
  4. Subscribershavixmir
    Guppy poo
    Sewers of Holland
    Moves
    04 Apr '08 12:23
    Originally posted by crazyfox
    I read where if one was to travel close to the speed of light you would age slower then on earth. For example: you got on a spaceship and went at 90% the speed pf light for about 5 years and then come back to earth. You been gone for about 10 years but on earth you been gone for about (just say about) 1000 years. If this make sense.
    No.

Say the distance from point A to point B is a light year.
    If you travel from point A to point B in 2 seconds and then take 2 seconds coming back, you will have been gone 4 seconds.

However, since you traveled a light year going and a light year coming back, Point A will be two years, minus 4 seconds further on.
  5. Subscribersonhouse