1. Joined
    16 Feb '08
    Moves
    18 Aug '09 14:41
    Often illustrated as a dark swirling disc with little depth compared to width; what 3 dimensional shape is a black hole?

Does it have dimensons? Should it be spherical? Is it mearly gravity creating an optical illusion of shape?
  2. Standard memberPalynka
    Upward Spiral
    Halfway
    Moves
    18 Aug '09 15:32
    Originally posted by divegeester
    Often illustrated as a dark swirling disc with little depth compared to width; what 3 dimensional shape is a black hole?

Does it have dimensons? Should it be spherical? Is it mearly gravity creating an optical illusion of shape?
    Interesting topic. I always thought it 'looked' spherical because of the event horizon...
  3. Germany
    Moves
    18 Aug '09 15:41
    I'm not really an expert on general relativity, but a black hole is a singularity isn't it?
  4. Standard memberPalynka
    Upward Spiral
    Halfway
    Moves
    18 Aug '09 16:041 edit
    Originally posted by KazetNagorra
    I'm not really an expert on general relativity, but a black hole is a singularity isn't it?
    Accordion to Wikipedia it's not just the singularity, but the "region of space in which the gravitational field is so powerful that nothing, including light, can escape its pull."

I'm no expert, though. What was on your mind? That a singularity has no volume? (Does it?)
  5. Joined
    16 Feb '08
    Moves
    18 Aug '09 16:161 edit
    Images often depict the bipolar jets:

http://www.scienceclarified.com/scitech/images/lsbh_0001_0001_0_img0013.jpg

Here the hole looks flat, but is it actually spherical and just the disc of matter makes it look flat? In either case it clearly has "poles".
  6. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    18 Aug '09 18:28
    Images often depict the bipolar jets:

http://www.scienceclarified.com/scitech/images/lsbh_0001_0001_0_img0013.jpg