1. Joined
    10 May '09
    Moves
    04 Sep '10 07:36
    For me it's that time is NOT a constant. It's been proven that time slows down for objects traveling at speeds, and the faster they go the more time slows down.

They actually have to account for these changes when we use GPS.

I've always thought of time as a kind of abstract idea. But as it turns out it's something real and tangible, and it can even be manipulated. I can't even begin to wrap my mind around this phenomenon.
  2. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    04 Sep '10 09:23
    Quantum entanglement, definitely Quantum entanglement.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantum_entanglement
  3. Germany
    Moves
    04 Sep '10 10:24
    As a quantum physicist myself, I don't easily get shocked at nature being weird anymore...
  4. Joined
    10 May '09
    Moves
    04 Sep '10 10:58
    Originally posted by KazetNagorra
    As a quantum physicist myself, I don't easily get shocked at nature being weird anymore...
    You're a quantum physicist? That's impressive.

Can you describe the field? The impression my uneducated mind gets from watching the science channel is that quantum physics is a bunch of pie-in-the-sky - anything is possible theories. Is there stronger science backing it than I've been lead to believe?
  5. Joined
    10 May '09
    Moves
    04 Sep '10 11:08
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    Quantum entanglement, definitely Quantum entanglement.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantum_entanglement
    Again, I'm the layman. What is an example of a particle that can be "entangled" with another? Are we talking about atoms, or something smaller?

Are they mysteriously linked regardless of distance? How far apart have they observed the link? Is there a laps of time for one particle to be reacting to the other?

Last question - has the phenomenon been observed when the particles are manipulated, or do they simply go about their natural state with relative behavior to each other?
  6. Cape Town