1. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    02 Jul '12 11:31
    How come this chess site, which is so sophisticated in so many ways, is unable to omit the 's' from games when there is only one game waiting?
  2. Subscribervenda
    Dave
    S.Yorks.England
    Joined
    18 Apr '10
    Moves
    59174
    02 Jul '12 14:33
    Originally posted by FMF
    How come this chess site, which is so sophisticated in so many ways, is unable to omit the 's' from games when there is only one game waiting?
    What does it matter?
  3. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    02 Jul '12 15:33
    Originally posted by FMF
    How come this chess site, which is so sophisticated in so many ways, is unable to omit the 's' from games when there is only one game waiting?
    Well, they tried that, but it showed "0 game waiting" too, and that drew a lot more complaints. 😛
  4. Standard memberPhlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    tinyurl.com/3sbbwd4
    Joined
    27 Mar '03
    Moves
    17242
    02 Jul '12 17:53
    Originally posted by FMF
    How come this chess site, which is so sophisticated in so many ways, is unable to omit the 's' from games when there is only one game waiting?
    Where are you reading that? I have ONE GAME WAITING.
  5. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    318038
    02 Jul '12 22:12
    I wouldn't complain about the wording of this function, at least it can count correctly. If it ain't broke ...
  6. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    03 Jul '12 10:26
    Originally posted by Kewpie
    I wouldn't complain about the wording of this function, at least it can count correctly. If it ain't broke ...
    It is broke, though.
  7. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    03 Jul '12 10:27
    Originally posted by venda
    What does it matter?
    What does your question matter?
  8. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    03 Jul '12 10:28
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    Well, they tried that, but it showed "0 game waiting" too, and that drew a lot more complaints. 😛
    Well, perhaps we should complain about both.
  9. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    318038
    03 Jul '12 12:30
    Originally posted by FMF
    It is broke, though.
    No, only dented, it's just a cosmetic thing.
  10. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    03 Jul '12 13:492 edits
    Originally posted by FMF
    Well, perhaps we should complain about both.
    Hmm...the code looks correct to me:
    document.write('<a class="loggedInInfo" href="/core/gameserve.php">' + nGamesWaiting + ' game' + (nGamesWaiting!=1?'s':'')
    The part in bold means that an 's' is only added to 'game' when the number of games waiting is not equal to 1.

    Out of curiosity, do you see '1 games waiting' on every page, or just some of them?

    Edit: confirmed. I just started a game and it says "1 game waiting".
  11. Subscribervenda
    Dave
    S.Yorks.England
    Joined
    18 Apr '10
    Moves
    59174
    03 Jul '12 14:06
    Originally posted by FMF
    What does your question matter?
    It doesn't ,just like it doesn't matter if it says 1 game waiting or 1 games waiting.
  12. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    03 Jul '12 14:361 edit
    Originally posted by venda
    It doesn't ,just like it doesn't matter if it says 1 game waiting or 1 games waiting.
    It matters to me. Isn't this what this particular forum is for?
  13. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    03 Jul '12 14:38
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    Out of curiosity, do you see '1 games waiting' on every page, or just some of them?
    Every page. Going all the way back to when I joined. It's taken me almost 7 years to break my silence.
  14. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29845
    03 Jul '12 14:46
    Oh, it appears to have been fixed! Thank you.
  15. Standard memberRevRSleeker
    CerebrallyChallenged
    Lyme BayChesil Beach
    Joined
    09 Dec '06
    Moves
    17848
    04 Jul '12 23:201 edit
    Originally posted by FMF
    How come this chess site, which is so sophisticated in so many ways, is unable to omit the 's' from games when there is only one game waiting?
    Naturally, the easiest 'fix' would be to qualify 'gameS' with matched pair parenthesis, 'game(s)' being the result. Personally I don;t think there are any benefits to changing what is already evident here; it's just my opinion based upon the fact that folk already understand the difference, and I'd wager very few would even notice any 'correction' ??
    Edit: I note you mention a fix...although I can't see it, it does surprise me !
Back to Top