1. Joined
    27 Nov '04
    Moves
    8872
    03 Dec '08 01:47
    In tournament play, if you run out of time and your opponent has no pieces, then it is draw, but on here you lose if you timeout regardless of whether or not your opponent can win.
  2. USA
    Joined
    02 Mar '07
    Moves
    8808
    03 Dec '08 05:03
    Originally posted by iggy4
    In tournament play, if you run out of time and your opponent has no pieces, then it is draw, but on here you lose if you timeout regardless of whether or not your opponent can win.
    it's not if your opponent can win, the game still continues because there is still the possibility of having a stalemate.
  3. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    43938
    03 Dec '08 06:24
    Originally posted by iggy4
    In tournament play, if you run out of time and your opponent has no pieces, then it is draw, but on here you lose if you timeout regardless of whether or not your opponent can win.
    Do you have Game 5471493 in mind?

    It is a clearly chance of stalemate here.
    The time should always be cared of.
  4. Joined
    04 Feb '05
    Moves
    29132
    03 Dec '08 08:34
    he said he lost, not drawed.

    i remember his rule. when someone in advantage runs out of time and the opponent had no chance of securing a checkmate, it is a draw.
  5. SubscriberMctayto
    Highlander
    Joined
    10 Dec '04
    Moves
    794670
    03 Dec '08 09:44
    Originally posted by Zahlanzi
    he said he lost, not drawed.

    i remember his rule. when someone in advantage runs out of time and the opponent had no chance of securing a checkmate, it is a draw.
    Doh !! He did lose on time out against a lonely king Game 5471493
  6. Joined
    04 Feb '05
    Moves
    29132
    04 Dec '08 11:01
    Originally posted by Mctayto
    [b]Doh !! He did lose on time out against a lonely king Game 5471493[/b]
    do you want to communicate something with your post? coz you simply repeated what i said.

    the rule in tournaments is (if i remember correctly) that if your opponent is king and bishop or king and knight or only king(ie no chance of winning), and your time runs out, that opponent will not win like in this case, it will be a draw.
  7. Joined
    01 Jul '08
    Moves
    23826
    06 Dec '08 00:21
    Probably should have promoted to queens.
  8. SubscriberVery Rusty
    Treat Everyone Equal
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Joined
    04 Oct '06
    Moves
    414483
    06 Dec '08 00:391 edit
    I always thought if you ran out of time, you lost, regardless of material left on board. Although this situation mentioned, never happened in any of the games I played in.
  9. SubscriberMctayto
    Highlander
    Joined
    10 Dec '04
    Moves
    794670
    06 Dec '08 01:02
    Originally posted by Zahlanzi
    if your opponent is king and bishop or king and knight or only king(ie no chance of winning), and your time runs out, that opponent will not win like in this case, it will be a draw.
    OTB you would be correct but online chess gives a time out win to the skull collector regardless of sufficient material
  10. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    10264
    06 Dec '08 01:30
    i don't know the rules regarding this matter on other sites but i think it should be an automatic draw just like in OTB play.

    there's not more annoying than someone playing on hoping for a major blunder to force a stalemate or timeout win. anything that stops rewarding this king of play has to be a good thing.
  11. Standard memberRed Night
    RHP Prophet
    pursuing happiness
    Joined
    22 Feb '06
    Moves
    13669
    06 Dec '08 02:26
    Originally posted by iggy4
    In tournament play, if you run out of time and your opponent has no pieces, then it is draw, but on here you lose if you timeout regardless of whether or not your opponent can win.
    I'd feel a lot worse for you if you hadn't promoted your pawns for knights.

    You were messing with your opponent and you lost on time, it's not tragic it's hilarious.
  12. SubscriberMctayto
    Highlander
    Joined
    10 Dec '04
    Moves
    794670
    06 Dec '08 12:50
    Originally posted by Red Night
    I'd feel a lot worse for you if you hadn't promoted your pawns for knights.

    You were messing with your opponent and you lost on time, it's not tragic it's hilarious.
    First Knight I could forgive but the second as you say serves him right 😀
    Good grief, agreeing with RN :'( the shame of it :'(
  13. Joined
    30 Aug '06
    Moves
    28651
    08 Dec '08 17:48
    Originally posted by MilkyJoe
    Probably should have promoted to queens.
    Promote like a normal person? Brilliant! 😉
  14. Standard memberRed Night
    RHP Prophet
    pursuing happiness
    Joined
    22 Feb '06
    Moves
    13669
    09 Dec '08 06:29
    Originally posted by Mctayto
    First Knight I could forgive but the second as you say serves him right 😀
    Good grief, agreeing with RN :'( the shame of it :'(
    Thanks McT.

    I know that I'm viewed as a bleeding heart, but there are limits to my charity.
  15. Joined
    01 Jul '08
    Moves
    23826
    09 Dec '08 16:21
    Originally posted by MilkyJoe
    Probably should have promoted to queens.
    Well, not the first one. That would have been stalemate (I think).
Back to Top