1. Playing with matches
    Moves
    22 Jun '09 16:46
    An older friend of mine is suffering from alzhiemer's. In a few short years his memory and perception of reality have dissolved. I only see him once a year or so and the degradation is remarkable. We were talking about Engineering, he paused, and suddenly said, "I used to be an Engineer didn't I?". I couldn't help shedding a tear.

This gradual erosion of his mind will continue until he is a shadow of his former self, his reality distilled down to a handful of fragmentary memories and perceptions.

He was a devout Christian and always encouraged me to explore religion and find a spiritual path through life. Now, religion is a non-entity to him, he's lost in his own mind.

When he passes, will he see God or will his inabilty to conceptualize God/Jesus thrust his soul into the void.

Personally, I can't imagine any God denying such a good man a seat at the table. However, I know he'd like to debate the question.
  2. At the Revolution
    Moves
    22 Jun '09 17:05
    Originally posted by Hand of Hecate
    An older friend of mine is suffering from alzhiemer's. In a few short years his memory and perception of reality have dissolved. I only see him once a year or so and the degradation is remarkable. We were talking about Engineering, he paused, and suddenly said, "I used to be an Engineer didn't I?". I couldn't help shedding a tear.

This gradual e ...[text shortened]... g such a good man a seat at the table. However, I know he'd like to debate the question.
    My faith is with him. I'll pray for him.
  3. Standard memberkaroly aczel
    The Axe man
    Brisbane,QLD
    Moves
    23 Jun '09 03:09

This post is unavailable.

Please refer to our posting guidelines.

4. Standard memberkaroly aczel
    The Axe man
    Brisbane,QLD
    Moves
    23 Jun '09 03:14
    I will light an incense stick for him.

His condition raises many ehical/spiritual/societal queastions
    nice food for thought.