1. SubscriberGhost of a Duke
    Resident of Planet X
    The Ghost Chamber
    Moves
    04 Oct '15 18:45
    It scares me to think i might not have met my wife. So many variables could have prevented us from meeting, from falling in love. I'm not even certain i would still exist if our paths hadn't crossed.

Is this the closest an atheist can ever get to religious love? (I guess you can include 'parental love', although i have no first hand experience of that).
  2. Joined
    11 Oct '04
    Moves
    04 Oct '15 18:51
    Originally posted by Ghost of a Duke
    It scares me to think i might not have met my wife. So many variables could have prevented us from meeting, from falling in love. I'm not even certain i would still exist if our paths hadn't crossed.

Is this the closest an atheist can ever get to religious love? (I guess you can include 'parental love', although i have no first hand experience of that).
    I hope you will take this as intended.

YouTube
  3. SubscriberSuzianne
    Misfit Queen
    Isle of Misfit Toys
    Moves
    04 Oct '15 19:22

You say there are so many variables that could have kept you from meeting. But you *did* meet anyways. Do you believe in "destiny"? I'm convinced that there are many, many "love stories" out there that could be made into a book or movie. There are "epic romances" all around us. I'm not trying to downplay yours, but all I'm saying is that everyday life contains so many epic tales, there will never be a shortage of material for the scribes.

Anyways, back to the purpose I wrote this reply. Do you think that perhaps you two were somehow "destined" to meet? That if it hadn't occurred just the way it did, it would have some other way?
  4. Joined
    02 Jan '06
    Moves
    04 Oct '15 19:27

God is love.

Love is our connection to the unseen world of God.