1. Joined
    05 Aug '08
    Moves
    15 Oct '08 00:13
    I must admit, I am a little annoyed by how many of the threads in the Science Forum have God brought into them. I don't really care whether or not people believe in God, and in fact plenty of scientists do. But for some reason we can't have a discussion about where the Universe came from or how life came to be without someone coming in and not only bringing up God, but lingering there to argue about how science is wrong and God is real. This strikes me as completely inconsiderate to the point of deliberate rudeness. So I suppose I am creating this thread in order to bring some of that out-of-place conversation to a more appropriate forum.

So, convince me. I am a scientist, and I am also an atheist. I am an atheist not because I have proof that there is no God, but because when it comes to whether or not something in the world is real, I require evidence. There are plenty of things I believe in without requiring evidence in the same way that I require evidence for believing in evolution or physics, such as morality and knowledge. These are philosophical objects, and ultimately human inventions. I take it that God is not supposed to be a human invention, but is to be regarded as real as the Universe. Thus I have the same standards of proof that I have for anything else in the Universe.

I do hope the people who want to convince me about God will leave the Science Forum alone now.
  2. Joined
    02 Jan '06
    Moves
    15 Oct '08 01:56
    Originally posted by convect