1. setlagole
    Moves
    25 Apr '17 18:23
    I am an average chess player and would like to move from my current 1100 to 1900 in two years. I started playing chess when I was about 30 years old. I am now 50.Now I have only two questions:
    1. Is it possibe that I can reach 1900 score?
    2. If yes, what can I do to reach that score? I am near 1000 completed game, and I am just losing more games and winning less .

Thanks

Tshotsho
  2. Subscribervenda
    Dave
    S.Yorks.England
    Moves
    25 Apr '17 19:36
    Originally posted by Tshotsho Khalapa
    I am an average chess player and would like to move from my current 1100 to 1900 in two years. I started playing chess when I was about 30 years old. I am now 50.Now I have only two questions:
    2. If yes, what can I do to reach that score? I am near 1000 completed game, and I am just losing more games and winning less .

Thanks

Tshotsho
    The more you play the more you will learn how to spot the traps, cut out your own mistakes and you should improve.
    Over time you will find your natural ability level I've been on here for 7 years and usually live in the mid 1500's so I think 1900 is probably a bit ambitious.
    Before I make a move I go through a few basic steps and I find it helps although I still miss things:-
    1.Check all checks -can your opponent put you in check with his next move? If so there could be a pin or skewer involved resulting in material loss.
    2.Have I any pieces hanging ?- i.e unprotected pieces or pieces with more attackers than defenders.
    3.Try to work out why your opponent has made the move he has made. Players rarely make a move with no reason behind it.Some of the time you will be wrong in your assumptions but it's good practice.
    A lot of people on here recommend books to study.I can never be bothered which is possibly why I'm mid 1500 !!
  3. Standard memberBigDogg
    Secret RHP coder
    on the payroll
    Moves
    25 Apr '17 19:39

Thanks

Tshotsho