1. Standard memberrbmorris
    Vampyroteuthis
    Infernalis
    Joined
    13 Apr '04
    Moves
    86499
    16 Dec '05 22:34
    Ok, I understand that chessatwork.com is supposed to be more suitable for people who are trying to get away with playing chess at work. There is one problem though. When you minimize redhotpawn.com, the little box at the bottom of your screen may say: "RedH..." as mine does now. When you minimize chessatwork.com, it often says: "chess...". It seems to me that redhotpawn.com is a little more "stealth" in that regard. Maybe there's something that can be changed in the code so chessatwork doesn't display this way when minimized.

    Ok, I really need to get some work done now! 🙂
  2. Standard memberrhb
    Ginger Scum
    Paranoia
    Joined
    23 Sep '03
    Moves
    15902
    16 Dec '05 22:52
    You could simply hide the windows bar (click the edge of it and drag it to the edge of the screen) then use [alt] + [tab] to alternate between windows.
  3. Standard memberrbmorris
    Vampyroteuthis
    Infernalis
    Joined
    13 Apr '04
    Moves
    86499
    16 Dec '05 23:06
    Originally posted by rhb
    You could simply hide the windows bar (click the edge of it and drag it to the edge of the screen) then use [alt] + [tab] to alternate between windows.
    True, but I kind of like the windows bar at the bottom of my screen. Actually, I think if you just changed the "title" tags in the html, to something like "sales forecasts", or something generic like "microsoft" that should do the trick.
  4. Standard memberrhb
    Ginger Scum
    Paranoia
    Joined
    23 Sep '03
    Moves
    15902
    16 Dec '05 23:13
    Originally posted by rbmorris
    True, but I kind of like the windows bar at the bottom of my screen. Actually, I think if you just changed the "title" tags in the html, to something like "sales forecasts", or something generic like "microsoft" that should do the trick.
    Understood. A while back FHM advertised a porn site that was run in a similar way... 😉
  5. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    17 Dec '05 01:52
    Dunno if this is any help but:-

    You could set it to auto-hide; you'll still have a grey bar across the bottom and all you do is point at it with the mouse and it appears until you move the mouse away again.

    Right click on toolbar/properties/under the taskbar tab check the box for auto-hide....
  6. Standard memberrbmorris
    Vampyroteuthis
    Infernalis
    Joined
    13 Apr '04
    Moves
    86499
    17 Dec '05 05:38
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    Dunno if this is any help but:-

    You could set it to auto-hide; you'll still have a grey bar across the bottom and all you do is point at it with the mouse and it appears until you move the mouse away again.

    Right click on toolbar/properties/under the taskbar tab check the box for auto-hide....
    Interesting...I'll have to check that out. Thank you. 🙂
  7. Joined
    28 Nov '05
    Moves
    24334
    16 Jan '06 15:35
    Even so, if your boss comes over and wants to look at someting on your screen, he might still see it if you need to use the Start menu or something.

    You can use Firefox and have multiple tabs, and leave a different tab active when you minimize it, but there's still a risk.

    How about a user configurable title?
  8. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    16 Jan '06 15:47
    Originally posted by rbmorris
    Ok, I understand that chessatwork.com is supposed to be more suitable for people who are trying to get away with playing chess at work. There is one problem though. When you minimize redhotpawn.com, the little box at the bottom of your screen may say: "RedH..." as mine does now. When you minimize chessatwork.com, it often says: "chess...". It seems to m ...[text shortened]... 't display this way when minimized.

    Ok, I really need to get some work done now! 🙂
    Firefox is your friend.

    Using this extension, TitleBar Tweaks (https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?id=57&application=firefox), you can change your browser titlebar to say Microsoft Hard at Work if you want.

    D
  9. Standard memberrhb
    Ginger Scum
    Paranoia
    Joined
    23 Sep '03
    Moves
    15902
    16 Jan '06 19:53
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    Firefox is your friend.

    Using this extension, TitleBar Tweaks (https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?id=57&application=firefox), you can change your browser titlebar to say Microsoft Hard at Work if you want.

    D (Firefox Extensions MVP)
    😛
  10. Joined
    28 Nov '05
    Moves
    24334
    16 Jan '06 19:55
    cool (and thankyou)
    now how about something to change the title of the Firefox tab?
  11. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    16 Jan '06 19:57
    Originally posted by aging blitzer
    now how about something to change the title of the Firefox tab?
    How do you mean?

    D
  12. The sky
    Joined
    05 Apr '05
    Moves
    10385
    16 Jan '06 20:33
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    Firefox is your friend.

    Using this extension, TitleBar Tweaks (https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?id=57&application=firefox), you can change your browser titlebar to say Microsoft Hard at Work if you want.

    D
    But there are probably many people (including me) who can't install the browser of their choice at work.
  13. Joined
    28 Nov '05
    Moves
    24334
    16 Jan '06 21:031 edit
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    How do you mean?

    D
    In Firefox you can have multiple web sites open in one Firefox session,
    called tabbed browsing. Each tab has a title based on the title of the web page being viewed under that tab.

    The extension alters the titlebar of the Firefox window (which normally also contains the title of the webpage in the active tab) but not the titles of the tabs
  14. Joined
    28 Nov '05
    Moves
    24334
    16 Jan '06 21:38
    hmm
    The Tab Mix Plus extension comes close
    It lets you change the tab title to whatever you set your Bookmark to.
    So each user can call it whatever they like.
    But it still keeps the little icon of a Knight

    Can Russ remove the Knight icon from the ChessAtWork pages?
  15. Standard memberskeeter
    515 + 30 days
    Account suspended
    Joined
    08 Mar '03
    Moves
    38202
    17 Jan '06 03:47
    Originally posted by aging blitzer
    In Firefox you can have multiple web sites open in one Firefox session,
    called tabbed browsing. Each tab has a title based on the title of the web page being viewed under that tab.

    The extension alters the titlebar of the Firefox window (which normally also contains the title of the webpage in the active tab) but not the titles of the tabs
    Thats not unique to Firefox - I am able to open other sites at the same time with IE by just clicking on the "e" in the task bar and it opens my home page again in another window. From there I can browse anywhere. Simple. The site tabs also show up in the bottom task bar - whats so special about FF??

    skeeter
Back to Top