1. Hmmm . . .
    Moves
    06 Dec '15 06:162 edits
    Who is a “True Muslim™”?

Only Sunnis? Only Shia? Only Twelver Shia? Only Sevener Shia (the Nizaris)? How about the Sufis? Which Sufis? How about the Amadiyyah?

Or is it only the Wahhabis? The Salafis?

How important are the Hadith? Which hadith? For which Muslims?

Which translation of the Quran is the most accurate? Muhammad Asad’s? Or Yusuf Ali’s—or Ahmed Ali’s or Muhammad Maulana Ali’s? How about Laleh Bakhtiar’s? What do you think of the Reformist Translation? How do you know?

How does one read the Quran? How does context work in the Quran? (Surely not the same as in the Biblical texts.) How is historical context to be considered for different verses, and strings of verses? How does poetry work in the Quran? How does dialectic? Do you know?

There seem to be some non-Muslims on here who act as if they know all about “True Islam™”. And who the “True Muslims™” are.

How do they know?

EDIT: I am not an expert. But I wrote all of that without looking anything up—there might be some misspellings. (And I know I missed some translations of the Quran—such as Pickthall’s; but I’m still going strictly from memory.)

[Oh. Also, I think that Michael Sells’ translations of the early surahs are excellent; I don’t know Arabic, but his poetry and the openness of meanings that he allows is impressive—as I understand from my readings that classical Arabic is (somewhat like its sister language Hebrew) radically polysemous. I wish he would produce a translation of the whole Quran.]
  2. Standard memberRJHinds
    The Near Genius
    Fort Gordon
    Moves
    06 Dec '15 07:33
    Originally posted by vistesd
    Who is a “True Muslim™”?

Only Sunnis? Only Shia? Only Twelver Shia? Only Sevener Shia (the Nizaris)? How about the Sufis? Which Sufis? How about the Amadiyyah?