1. Joined
    15 Oct '06
    Moves
    13 Oct '10 22:433 edits
    Came across the following embedded in an article:
    As a psychologist I have come to realize that Christian fundamentalism is a form of mental illness. It is a form of psychosis where normal judgment processes for deciding what is real and unreal are suspended, and are replaced with an obsession for justifying beliefs using interpretations of an ancient religious book. Logic is suspended even in the face of overwhelming contradictions.

Quite frankly, it's difficult to not agree with this. Many seem to be fine until they get pushed passed a certain line at which any number of ego defense mechanisms show themselves and they become quite irrational. Is it because their beliefs are unsound and so they are unable to reconcile the contradictions via reason?
  2. Subscriberjosephw
    Owner
    Scoffer Mocker
    Moves
    14 Oct '10 00:09
    Originally posted by ThinkOfOne
    [quote]As a psychologist I have come to realize that Christian fundamentalism is a form of mental illness. It is a form of psychosis where normal judgment processes for deciding what is real and unreal are suspended, and are replaced with an obsession for justifying beliefs using interpretations of an anc ...[text shortened]... se their beliefs are unsound and so they are unable to reconcile the contradictions via reason?
    This is my question then.

What does the psychologist come to realize as just another human being?

How incredibly arrogant? Does being a "psychologist" make that person better qualified to judge than God?
  3. Joined
    15 Oct '06
    Moves
    14 Oct '10 00:23
    Originally posted by josephw
    This is my question then.

What does the psychologist come to realize as just another human being?

How incredibly arrogant? Does being a "psychologist" make that person better qualified to judge than God?
    I didn't see where that psychologist claimed to be "better qualified than God".