1. Joined
    18 Apr '15
    Moves
    10 May '15 18:07
    I posted this in a thread in the chess forum in response to a post. It fits here better. So I thought I'd post it here too.

Thread 164029 It is towards the bottom of page 6 in the thread.

"I realize this is a chess forum and not a spirituality forum, but I feel this is necessary to say still since you put it on display in this thread.

Per your profile-"Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”

I disagree. The Christian faith does not discuss the idea of Jesus Christ but the person of Jesus Christ. Same with Islam regarding Mohammed. It is not the idea of Christ but the person of Christ upon which I make my living (I'm a minister of the gospel).

Regardless of your opinions about Christianity, most will be forced to admit that the person of Christ stands in history as a giant-the ideas are important but less so.

It's all about relationship. It's not about what you know but who you know. I would suggest your premise in that quote is fundamentally flawed. Plus, it came from Eleanor Roosevelt who I respect but I don't believe she was a philosopher or theologian.

Feel free to take this to the spirituality forums now."
  2. Standard memberKellyJay
    Walk your Faith
    USA
    Moves
    10 May '15 18:15
    Originally posted by AppleChess
    I posted this in a thread in the chess forum in response to a post. It fits here better. So I thought I'd post it here too.

Thread 164029 It is towards the bottom of page 6 in the thread.

"I realize this is a chess forum and not a spirituality forum, but I feel this is necessary to say still since you put it on display in this thread. ...[text shortened]... she was a philosopher or theologian.

Feel free to take this to the spirituality forums now."
    "Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”