Originally posted by sh76
Look, I understand there are bad calls. But, there are bad calls and there are BAD CALLS.
Are you telling me that 4 officials missed the guy basically playing volleyball around the net in the last minutes of the game when 2 guys were obviously offsides as well??
What a joke!
Well, 2 officials missed it.
The fourth official is not there to assist the ref about in-game plays and the other linesman (assistant referee) is on the other half of the pitch. Moreover, the linesman that was on the right half of the pitch, was on the opposite side of where the play happened and the ref also had many players between him and Henry.
I think the offside was probably the less excusable of the missed calls. Still, I think that if they were out to rob Ireland, they would have called the penalty on Anelka a few minutes earlier. I think it was a penalty, others disagree, but certainly it was the perfect moment to benefit France if that's what he was out to do. Maybe that missed call made him give the benefit of the doubt to the French and, in doubt, didn't call the handball.
It's sad that it ended like that, especially because Ireland was the best team on the pitch, but I don't think it was a conspiracy.