Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Debates Forum

Debates Forum

1. 12 Apr '11 21:27 / 3 edits
    Which do you suppose is better at helping the poor? Is it the church or the state? - whodey

This question was posted originally in spirituality, but i would like you guys to think
    whether it would work or not and if so, why has it not been implemented elsewhere
    or has it. I cannot say because i have been self employed my entire working life,
    so i have no experience with what employers offer. here is the jist of it

In the Uk we had a great tradition of benefactors and philanthropists there is still an
    entire village in lanark, Scotland, where the workers could expect.

1.Education
    2.Social Inclusion and Early Intervention
    3.Parenting Classes
    4.Working Conditions
    5.Employment Training
    6.Child Care / Workplace Nurseries
    7.Equality for Women
    8.Health, Preventive Medicine & Health Education
    9.Care for the elderly and infirm

and that Whodey was 200 years ago.

http://www.newlanark.org/robertowen.shtml

so is this model applied and does debates think that its would be a successful model
    for businesses to implement?
  2. 12 Apr '11 22:07 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    Which do you suppose is better at helping the poor? Is it the church or the state? - whodey

This question was posted originally in spirituality, but i would like you guys to think
    whether it would work or not and if so, why has it not been implemented elsewhere
    or has it. I cannot say because i have been self employed my entire working life, ...[text shortened]... pplied and does debates think that its would be a successful model
    I have to say, this guy has an snswer for everything and everyone. It's just too bad he is not king of the universe so he can force them to listen.