Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Debates Forum

Debates Forum

1. Subscriber kmax87
    You've got Kevin
    01 Jun '17 12:13
    I've been listening to argument on both sides for many years on this forum, that either vilifies the Jews or the Palestinians, and a wide range of reasons for why things are the way they are.

Yet the right to armed struggle/defence of land/national identity is clung to by both sides and whenever a non violent strategy is put forward as a way forward its quickly dismissed as another way to weaken the already precarious position the Palestinians find themselves in, but whenever a cease fire is called for and subsequently broken then it almost always is used as proof by the Israeli​'s as proof that their heavy handed scorched earth methods are valid while a slightly quieter chorus will blame the return of hostilities on black flag operations sponsored by the Jewish controlled State of Israel.

But whenever that logic is aired it is usually quickly quashed with stories of how ill-disciplined the Palestinians are in negotiation or their inability to control their more militant factions that from long experience the wise cynics will prognosticate, that in the long run it's better not to bother because the Palestinians are not interested in solutions but just want an opportunity for the Israeli forces to drop their guard a bit and it will be Kristallnacht all over again.

So the question is, given that this is just a small impression of the contradicting narratives that are heard by interested but non involved third person's standing on the sidelines​, is this assymetrical cycle of violence and dispair, a cycle of distrust that can ever be broken, or is believing meaningful peace can ever be brokered in the Middle East a hope never to be realised?